Check your version

This video covers a topic in Drupal 7 which may or may not be the version you're using. We're keeping this tutorial online as a courtesy to users of Drupal 7, but we consider it archived.

Prepare Your Site by Cleaning up the Blocks Interface

Video loading...

Join Drupalize.Me to watch this video

Join today and gain instant access to our entire video library.

Log in Sign up
  • 0:03
    Prepare Your Site by Cleaning up the Blocks Interface
  • 0:06
    with Kyle Hofmeyer
  • 0:08
    When using the Context module,
  • 0:10
    one thing to keep in mind is that the block system can still be used.
  • 0:13
    This can cause lots of issues and confusion
  • 0:15
    if there are multiple site builders or developers working on a site.
  • 0:19
    In this lesson, I cover a method I recommend all site builders do,
  • 0:22
    which is to basically wipe out the block user interface
  • 0:25
    and just set just about everything to disabled.
  • 0:28
    There are multiple reasons to do this.

Prepare Your Site by Cleaning up the Blocks Interface

Loading...

In this lesson we will perform a simple operation that site builders do when using the Context module. This is not necessary, but a good idea if there are multiple people managing your site. We will disable all blocks in the block UI since we will be using the Context module to manage this part of our website. The core block UI will then only be used to manage block titles as Context does not allow for this (a disadvantage we learned about previously).

Additional resources:
There are no resources for this video. If you believe there should be, please contact us.